Cheerful Chart

This week starts something new for us at school.   We are starting a Cheerful Chart for Big Brother.  I am seeking to improve our learning experience, to accomplish more, and to make school more fun for everyone.

Today is our first day of use, so I can’t speak to the over all effectiveness but I will describe be for you, and a post on results will follow in a few weeks.

I started with my planning document.  I have created a chart to plan school on because I have not found a planning book that I liked, that had enough space for all our subjects and would let me plan both boys.

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Activities
Bible
Phonics / reading /
spelling / diction
Lang Arts / Grammar
math
World history
US History / Social Studies
Logic / Science
Art / Geography

To make our cheerful chart I started with the planning chart and added ‘subject’ to it that I do not have on my planning chart (read-a-loud time, quiet reading time).  Then I tool the columns of Day 1 to Day 4 (since I plan for 4 days of academics a week and do not label with weekday titles) and divide each into two columns labels then DONE and CHEERFUL.

Each day I sit down with it and mark out subjects we will not be doing that day (for example I did not have any spelling or dictation planned for today) so I marked that out.  Then as we do subjects we mark them as DONE and if he earns it he can have a sticker for him CHREEFUL box.

In truth it is more than cheerful, it is attention and effort too; but I thought CHERERFUL was a good catch work to use with a 6, almost 7, year old.  I am still fine tuning it.

 Weekly CHEERFUL Chart

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Activities
Bible / memory

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

done

cheerful

done

cheerful

done

cheerful

done

cheerful

Phonics / reading /
spelling / diction
Lang Arts / Grammar
math
World history
US History / Social Studies
Logic / Science
Art / Geography
Read-a-loud time
Quiet reading time
Penmanship
Cheerful totals

I explained to him that we’d count up his cheerful points and he will have the ability to earn things with them.  I gave him the example of toys he asks for and assigning a cheerful point value to them and allowing thing to earn them.  As we develop I also see him having to maintain a certain cheerful percentage to plan his video games.  Again, we just started this, it will grow (I hope). 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Cheerful Chart

  1. I really like this idea and am thinking of using it for not only our after-schooling/weekend schooling, but also for chores. Henry developed some really bad attitude habits while he was gone from us for 4 months and we now not only struggle with him on household chores like cleaning up andtaking out the trash, but also with his cheerfully, willingly and attentively taking care of his various pets/4-H projects (which are part of our after-hours homeschooling subject matter.) I am going to have to think on it to make it work for us, but I really love this idea. I am thinking that using this for the next few months may see attitudes improving around here. I am tired of being the enforcer-mean-mommy person by default, just to get things that need done, DONE!

Leave a Reply

