Proverbs 31:30 ~ Favour is deceitful, and beauty is vain: but a woman that feareth the LORD, she shall be praised.

Many in this world would promote a general understanding that to be equal to a man in daily matters once must act like a man.  Unfortunately many Christian will spout the same misguided silliness.  As believers we know, or should know, this to be a lie of the devil, but sadly too often allow ourselves to be dragged down in to worldly mud slinging between the genders.

I saw this quote recently, and loved it, it really resounded with me.  “Egalitarianism has tried to convince women that dressing like a sloppy man is a compliment and a privilege” .

Thus motivated, I am picking up my old saga of musings about modesty and head covering and their relation to faith and application in daily functional life.  This is an area I feel God’s call on me; I freely admit I am not where I feel God wants me on this topic, but I am struggling to get there (and dragging you, dear reader, along for the bumpy ride).

I’ll state again that I am in no way a teacher, nor a Biblical scholar.  I am a believer, a Daughter of the King.  I share my thoughts and that is all I have to offer.

If you’d like to see the back-story – here is a collection of my previous posts, and one amazing guest post https://scribinglife.wordpress.com/tag/modesty-covering/.

As I have stated before I am frustrated by how often Christian writings about modesty and personal appearance are met with hostility, even from other believers.  It is deeply saddening to see so many Children of the King used as pawns of the devil.  The Jewish writing that I have read seem about to address questions of personal accountably to God and modesty in a much more honest and simply manner.   They seem much more able to address God’s commandments regarding modesty without the destructive and worldly, baggage about gender.  We need to stand against the world and the devil, and not against each other.

Ephesians 6:12 for our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.

I am fully confident of my equality in life and before God.  I do not need to argue or protest or ‘fight’ for my equal footing with other believers.  I do not have to dress like another, act like another or “fight”.  There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither bond nor free, there is neither male nor female: for ye are all one in Christ Jesus. Galatians 38.  God said it is so, it is so.  I have reason to achieve what is simple fact.  I stand as an equal heir to the Kingdom of God, my Father with all other believes.  As Christians, God wants us to view both male and female as equally important, not inferior and superior.  Remember we are charged not to be unequally yoke; if men and women were not intrinsically equivalent all yoking would inherent be unequal; God’s command would not be possible, and we all know God’s commandments for us are possible, by the very nature of God.

Merriam – Webster dictionary defines equal:  (1) : of the same measure, quantity, amount, or number as another Also:  equivalent b : like in quality, nature, or status c : like for each member of a group, class, or society <provide equal employment opportunities>  Also : regarding or affecting all objects in the same way

Equal is not indistinguishable or ‘the same’; read the definition again – equivalent not identical.  I stand equal to all men as God’s creation and as a female believer.  However I am not identical or interchangeable with any male; I am not a duplicate of my husband or father.

As women of Yahuweh, we have a very special dignity and glory that we should treasure and protect.  We have a royal status to uphold.  Our glory and dignity that is growing inwardly, needs to begin to show forth outwardly, by the way we dress.  The clothes we wear have far more importance than many of us realize.   … As women, we have the great honor and unique privilege of displaying many of the qualities of the Bride of Messiah.  http://www.thewayprepared.com/studies/kings-daughter.html

I am a daughter of the King, I am woman and I am given roles and responsibilities, challenges and gifts that are unique to my gender.  I also have been given command for living my life that are relevant only to me as a female; and they are part of my relationship with God Himself, not any other person.  Our differences are fundamental, intentional and by design. In like manner also, that woman adorn themselves in modest apparel, with shamefacedness and sobriety; not with broided hair, or gold or pearls, or costly array; but (which becometh women professing godliness) with good works.  1 Timothy 2.9-10

G.K. Chesterton:  “I WOULD give woman, not more rights, but more privileges. Instead of sending her to seek such freedom as notoriously prevails in banks and factories, I would design especially a house in which she can be free.” ~GKC: ‘What’s Wrong With the World.’

I am angered that too many believers follow the world and accept as true that somehow following God’s commands for her life; that makes her less of a person.  It is a distraction of the Evil One to make us fight and deny or true selves thus preventing us reaching the levels of glory God has for us.   I am supposed to believe that; somehow I am on a more equal footing with a man that is staring down my tight low cut shirt rather than engaging with me in real conservation.  These old arguments (that we must be interchangeable with men to be equal or that there is freedom in flaunting your body like a room for rent) do not promote equitable gender relations; they are tools of the devil to distract and divide.  What could we achieve with we chose not to listen to the lies of evil and set ourselves to walking rightly with the Lord and accomplishing all He has for us.

Titus 2:4-5 That they may teach the young women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children, 5 To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Proverbs 31:30 ~ Favour is deceitful, and beauty is vain: but a woman that feareth the LORD, she shall be praised.

  1. Crystal

    great post!

  2. Julie

    Very thought provoking! Well done

Leave a Reply

