a first

Today marks a first in our home.  Today we finished our first chapter book read-a-loud.
 
We read daily, of course, and read and read and read daily.  Nevertheless we generally read “one sitting books”; usually 3 or 4 at a time actually.  But the boys have never done chapter books really well.  To be fully honest, Little Brother did not, till the last year, allow me to read more than 3 to 5 minutes at a time, and was not at all interested in sitting for stories and reading time. 
 
In the past 6 months or so Little Brother has demonstrated a growing maturity and our reading time has stretched back to the 45 minutes or more at a sitting that was routine before Little’s brother hit about 16 months and began to voice (and act out) his lack of interest in story time (he’d not even agree to play while I read to Big Brother for a long time Little Brother felt it necessary actively interrupt rather than just ignore or refuse to participate).
 
Recently I decided to try a chapter book, it has been about 6 months since the last time I attempted one with the boys.  I chose My Father’s Dragon after seeing so many other homeschooling moms with BOYS suggest it as a “not to be missed” read-a-loud  (gotta love home school message boards).   
 
The book, and the experience, was a resounding success. The book is 77 pages long and broken into 10 chapters; most days we read 2 chapters.  today we finished the BOOK.  Each chapter follows the same formula thus making it easier for the boys to follow the story.  There is a small illustration on most of the pages, but it is not a picture book.  The illustrations are simple and pen and ink; and while the boys really wanted to look at them, and study the map at the back, the story held their attention without the art. 
 
I am so excited!!  Next we’ll be reading the sequel: Elmer and the DragonBig Brother asked for instantly at the conclusion of My Father’s Dragon. 
 
After that, I am so excited to be able to finally dig into the shelf of read-a-louds I have been collecting.  Keeping the books fairly short and simple I am thinking of progressing on to:
 
The Cricket in Times Square (Chester Cricket and His Friends) 
Mr. Popper’s Penguins 
Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle 
And
The School Mouse 
5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “a first

  1. Crystal

    This is a great milestone!

  2. Rebecca

    so glad you guys have reached this point, opens up so much literature (and also helps with adult boredom in reading to kids.) Other than Dr. Seuss I get so sick of reading picture books including the non-fiction dino books boys bring hoe repeatedly.

    • I am good with most of it. we have some AMAZING “picture books” the standard 32 page jobs, some I routinely choose. they have 3 shelves — most of iot am ok with once or twice anyway :0)

  3. Jodi D.

    That is deffinately an awesome accomplishment. I love when our kids show us they are growing up but it also has that sadness to it! 🙂 my baby informed her father and I last night she is gonna be 4 Soon! 4! thats an age I didn’t want to think of her in yet! LOL she still has 6 months more of 3 and I plan to hold onto that as long as I can! LOL Our first chapter books before little one was born was Chronicles of Narnia. E loved it. But we have not managed to have a set story time since little one was born so we need to get back to that ourselves. I am anxiously awaiting the day that E can read a chapter book successfully to himself. he has tried but skipped alot of the big words. 🙂

Leave a Reply

