the pool and a couple of thought on bathing suits

First I’ll address the issue that’s obvious given all my previous posts on modesty.  BATHING SUITS.  I feel beyond the merits of modestly as a life choice, a more modest suit allows for more movement, more freedom, more enjoyment; especially for an active mom playing with and chasing kids, not sunning for the guys on the pool side.   The pool and other bathing occasions also gives a person a very unmistakable opportunity to make a visual statement about their “stance on modesty”  It is easy to talk about modest suits, but then what do you choose to buy or wear?  Summer is a real chance to make a testimony with our choices; do we stick to the guns that are so easy in winter, or do we get lazy?

 

 

 

Ok, MY suit:  I freely admit that I am not really happy with it.  I got it in 2004 and have worn it though 2 pregnancies and nursed 2 boys in it.  I’d love a swim-dress more like this – but they are expensive and I try not to spend a lot of money of clothing and so on for me; also they’d be special order (that is bought on-line or something) and I hate to buy clothing that way especially something that needs to fit like a bathing suit.  In general I do not like buying clothing I can’t try one, and since I am tall and have a long torso getting bathing suits is particularly challenging.  Not something as elaborate as this but something more like a skirt like this http://www.hydrochic.com/rubadowask.html but INCLUDING shorts.  Maybe the JULEIT option here: http://www.becomingswimdress.com/??  I really LIKE these suits: http://www.swimmodest.com/modestswimsuits.lasso.  BUT I do not like the fabric; I’d choose a solid color myself.  So, anyhow I have not made that investment.  Also considering “UV Clothing” a nice ¾ “rash guard” shirt  would be perfect if I could find a nice skirted bottom for it.

I have yet to make that investment; but I will, I think, next time I get a suit.  I am pretty happy with the skirt I have on my green suit, it is longer than any of the other suits a with skirts I have tried on, so that is nice and the bottoms come up to my waist, they do not just hang on my hips.  The top is a problem.  It just doesn’t fit like it did when I bought it, it doesn’t cover my tummy as well as I’d like as I play with the boys and I’d like the neck line to be higher.  Now that Little Brother rarely nurses out and about, and I do not need to worry as much about access as much (I miss that, to be honest).  I think I am going to try something new.  I have a one piece bathing suit with a much higher neck, better coverage at the arms and on the back, it is black; it did not fit when I was pregnant and did not offer the necessary access for nursing; so I have not been wearing it.  I am thinking of wearing it and the green swim skirt over it for this year.  I need the skirt; I feel the bottom really needs to be covered.  Nevertheless I’d like better coverage up top.  So that is my plan, then maybe for Christmas or next Birthday I’ll ask Hubby for a new bathing suit (after all it has been since 2004, I did get one at target in 2007 but it doesn’t fit well and is in practice less modest than the green one). 

Last year was the first year for the remodeled aqua center here in our local little town.  I did not brave the pool alone with both boys last year, but we’ve been twice this year.  I decided to get a family membership after our first visit.  The children’s shallow area is really big; there is a zero entry area and a AMAZING water slide for the littles’ (that parents can go on with them too).  The slide falls into one foot of water and has a pad under it.  Both boys can do the slide and keep their head out of the water, if they choose, but both feel comfortable enough to ‘go under’ at the bottom and pop right up without fear.  Little has to go for the first time on my lap, but after that he is off like a shot.  Both boys love the slide, but especially Little Brother.  Little Brother is the Energizer Bunny down the slide, over, up the steps, down the slide, repeat, repeat, repeat, practically non-stop. 

 

 

 

Yes my boys wear swim shirts and the longest trunks I can find them.  Not just for sun protections either, the boy’s bodies are no more for public display than mine or any girls’ is.  I desire for my boys to take care of, respect and protect their body just as I would want a daughter to.  They are there to play and have fun, not to have to worry about their bodies or their clothing. 

I plan to get to the pool at least once a week and would be happy to make it 2 or three times.  Big Brother has gotten to play with kids he knew from classroom and Little Brother has gotten to interact and play too.  Both really enjoy it, and the set of the pool allows for me to play and enjoy too, not just chase kids and battle wills all the visit.

Photos all thanks to Auntie Roo.  THANKS

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “the pool and a couple of thought on bathing suits

  1. Crystal

    I HATE my bathing suit this year. It is so low cut and shows cleavage. I HATE that. It is all I could find that actually fits me and is easy to nurse in that isn’t super expensive. (under $50 is my limit for a suit for me) I really do not want to order from online b/c the sizing chart never really fits all of my measurements. I am kind of odd shaped. Nor am I willing to spend $100 on it. Sometimes I wear a t-shirt over my bathing suit, but I hate how sloppy it looks and feels so uncomfy when wet. It really isn’t a good option.

    If you wear a swim shirt and swim shorts, that is an option, but what do you wear UNDER the shirt? I know I need some support to not be bouncing all around. Adding anything under may make it difficult to nurse while out.

  2. Lisa

    Lands End has lovely suits that cover a lot and if you wait until september or october the prices go WAY down. They also guarantee their stuff for life – my mom bought one of their suits 5 years ago, and when the elastic around the leg gave out last year (they have a pool and swim a lot), she called Lands End and they sent her a brand new suit of her choice for free. Check out ohanaswimwear.com, they have good stuff too.
    I’m in the same boat, hon. HUG.

  3. Rebecca Hunter

    I think most women have issues finding bathing suits they like, whether they are shopping for modesty sake or otherwise. Even as a teenager I can remember the nightmare of swimwear shopping with both my mom and my girlfriends… trekking through every store and still not being happy with the choices offered. Remember the days of “french cut” bathing suits ladies (all of them came this way back in the 80’s and early 90’s… heck, even excercise-wear came this way.) Having never been blessed with slender legs/thighs… well, lets just say this type of shopping was a chubby girl’s personal nightmare.

    I’ve not had a suit I’ve been truly happy with since 2005… and oddly enough that was a light blue gingham print 2 piece maternity suit from Motherhood Maternity that my mother picked out for me and sent to me in the mail while i lived in TX.

  4. Rebecca Hunter

    My maternity suit I had 8 years ago with Charlie was fairly modest by the standards of the last 25 years or so. The top came almost to mid-thigh and the bottoms were cut more like shorts than a bikini bottom. I didn’t go to the pool much in it, as I didn’t have friends there that were “available” during pool hours and my husband was constantly out of town for work in those days. However, I often wore the bottoms under my maternity shorts because they didn’t ride up like panties did and I LOVED the top with shorts, as it was long enough to cover the stupid looking preggo panel on pants and shorts. I wore it through 2 pregnanies, nursing and beyond until the fabric finally was completely worn out and I had to throw it out. In the years since, I’ve yet to find a single suit I really love… yes occasionally a top I liked sort of or a bottom… but never all in one suit.
    Now in hte family way AGAIN and with an 8 year old and a 6 year old, we swim A LOT… my mom bought me another Maternity bathing suit at Motherhood (as the nearest maternity clothing store is a 220 mile trip and my doctor has me on restricted travel.. so that’s too far to go… online shopping for swim suits doesn’t work for me, EVER.) I am not as happy with this one… the top is okay if I cross the straps in the back to keep the neckline from sagging too much… apparently if you are a plus sized mom and PG, you are “supposed” to have an enormous chest to go with… not that lucky. Anyway.. the color is nice, a brown and turquiose floral… but the bottoms are too bikini cut for my taste, will not stay up on a PG belly not matter what you try. I have some suit fabric I bought several years ago and want to make my own… I just haven’t found hte time or energy yet to go there.

Leave a Reply

