Book Review: Homeschooling from a Biblical Worldview

I just finished reading Homeschooling from a Biblical Worldview.  Fast easy read.  Nothing new and not exactly something I totally agree with.  There is an element, a group of Christian Homeschoolers that advocate or promote separation.  Not the “be not conformed” advice of Romans (be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what [is] that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.  Romans 12:2).   But a separation born of fear, a fear, that is in my opinion unbiblical.  I do not agree with or promote any attempt to complete isolate our children from the real world that they shall inherit and are called to influence.  We home school because we are not comfortable, nor do we think it is advisable or responsible to send small impressionable children well under the age of reason off to Caesar for 8+ hours a day.  Nonetheless no adult that walls people up in brick does not do so because they read The Cask of Amontillado by Poe and teenagers doing drugs are not doing so because of the influence of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.  There are those that feel it best for their children, and one assumes, themselves too, to read only books and materials created and written by others sharing the same world view.  I am not ready to limit myself that severely and while I strongly advocate parental involvement and supervision of youth reading, I can not support limiting them so artificially either.  This book is written from that perspective.  Granted all media, print or screen, has a bias; but I feel if we automatically discount any books written by non-Christian authors, or covering non-Christian subjects, we run a very real risk of becoming like the people that would ban To Kill A Mockingbird because it is racist.  The bias of presented material is, of course, a vital consideration, but it is a consideration that can be taken up as part of the education process with out children, not in spite of them.  Interesting book, a fast easy read for my time on ‘no fiction’ Lent; however I am glad I got it off paperbackswap and did not spend much money on it, I will not be keeping it in my reference library but there were a few quotes worth the time.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Book Review: Homeschooling from a Biblical Worldview

  1. I didn’t realize we agreed so much on homeschooling and separation! Very well stated thoughts.

Leave a Reply

