1.6.11

Recent quotes from Big Brother (just 5 in Nov)

  • “You are right a lot of the time momma, but not all the time like me”
  • “It is hard to be 5 but it is easy to be a gown up”
  • “I just do not know who I am going to marry momma, and I just need to know”

Art done by Little Brother today at classroom:

I have been, for a time, reading about Children’s Literature and especially looking at different collections and list of “good” Children’s Literature and also Children’s Literature that people suggest as Must Reads.  Obviously I make my own choices, my standards and expectations are high.  Some stand as an example of another time, if not as anything else.  I have been complying my own list; Master List, of these recommendations (and of course removing the duplicates and keeping it in alphabetical order).  I feel a lot of the older books and stories have a great deal to offer; the ones that make the classics lists and the ones that don’t.  The language is almost alvays rich, the art a glimpse at a different time, the topics and presentation softer and less, what is to me, worldly (like the Nightly News).  The stories or books may not be outstanding or extra special, nevertheless they may still be solid, wholesome and edifying to read.  I have this book and it rocks:  One Hundred Years of Children’s Books in America: Decade by Decade.  I have had a great time going reading this book and pouring over the books compilations.  I am, after all, a bibliophile with a fanatical addiction, yes I love reading ABOUT books as much as reading the books themselves.  It is a look at the different trends in Children’s Literature in different “times periods” the reflections of the time found in the Literature and the changes in the genre.  Each chapter ends with a list of notable books from that decade and a summary of the works and why they are being chosen as representative of that time or why they are noteworthy.  At the end of the book is a year by year list of Newberry and Caldecott Award winners and runners up or honor books.  The end of the book also offers a Appendix of the books discussed broken down by age group (preschool to Young Adult.  Well over 500 books are discussed (only 26 for the first two decades of the 1900 however).  I found much rich food for thought and several new additions to the Master List for reading to the boys.  I don’t acct the suggestions at face value, some are just, in my estimation not all that impressive (Martha Speaks by Meddeugh for example) or are subjects we feel are not at all appropriate for younger children (Daddy’s Roommate by willaite) and others are just not books I want to read with our boys (The Dead Bird by Margret wise Brown for example).  49 of the titles discussed / recommended as representative or valuable to read we already have; and a few past that I think I must have in my boxes of children’s book from my youth (for existence The Little Prince, I know I had that).  In total I added 22 “young adult” novels to my personal ‘want to read’ list (books I have never read); 4 commentaries on children’s literature or education have been added to my reading list; and finally 48 books have been added to my ‘to read to the boys’ list. 

To read more about the Caldecott Medal:

to read more about the Newberry Award:

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

