12.29.10 (ASL and Bible)

I am trying to slowly craft a better daily routine and “schedule” for us. (it is one of my Home and Schooling Goals for 2011)

Today we took some time for ASL practice; this needs to be a daily activity.  I have a couple of books (had many more but got rid of all but the good ones) and a couple of sets of flash cards.  I decided that I am going to work the flash card sets over and over till we achieve mastery.  Today we worked on Beginners Series – Animals & Colors  Next we’ll do:  ASL Flashcards: Beginners Series – Objects & EmotionsThe Library here also has two more sets of the flashcards, I think:  ASL Flashcards: Beginners Series – Family/Clothing/Toileting and ASL Flashcards: Beginners Series – Actions & Opposites.  After that I will go though my fav book (Teach Your Tot to Sign: The Parents’ Guide to American Sign Language – it is the best easy reference of signs, it is decently compete though still lacking, it is the best of the “useable” versions I have found) and make my own flash cards – copy the page and laminate – in sets of 10 or 20 and push on to mastery of those.  I have been trying to use more ASL in our daily life but I guess I need a plan to keep myself on it.  With a plan of things I intend for us to master (flashcards, etc) then there is something for us to sit down with each day and practice and that makes sure momma will get it done. 

I am still disappointed that Big Brother is not better at the signs he has known since he was 2 and 3 years old (such as colors and some of the animals); I have to wonder if he lacks the fine motor skill (either as a factor of age in general, or because some of him skills are behind).  I am having a bit of a challenge keeping him motivated to demonstrate the signs correctly (not lazy) and actually learn the new ones.  I am keeping after it as I still intend ASL to be a second language for the family.  Also the flashcards are a great practice for both boys’ speech and Big Brother reading.  Little Brother really seems to enjoy the practice time and seems to really get a kick out of getting them correct and learning them.  Big Brother did ask to do the second set of flash cards after we did the first. 

So out of the set we are currently working on mastery of (Animals & Colors) 

Signs Little Brother remembered all on his own:

  • Squirrel
  • Green
  • Blue
  • Cow (tried to say too)
  • Monkey
  • Rabbit

Signs he mimicked very well:

  • Orange
  • Brown (tried to SAY too)
  • White
  • Color
  • Mouse

 

3 he is not really even able to try:

  • Worm
  • Dog
  • Fish

And then there is snake – when I ask him, or show him – he just says NO – so that is that. 

The there 13 signs in the set he mimics but not as well.

Big Brother has learned all these at one time, though some we never used enough to active total mastery of (hippo and worm for example), but I am pushing him to remember what he “knows” and learn the rest. 

As action two of the “molding a new routine” we started reading Big Brother’s Bible today.  I asked Big Brother if he though we’d be able to read the Bible in a year, before Jesus’ birthday next year, or even before his birthday next year.  He did not think so “too many words and I don’t think you can read them all” (thanks, kid).  But then after we read Genesis 1 and 2 I asked him if he wanted to stop or read Chapter 3; he told me he wanted to read it all today “to see if we can read all the pages in one day”.  So I don’t know a good amount of the time, what he is thinking.  When we got to chapter 3 of Genesis wanted to stop. “don’t read this part, I don’t like this part”, I asked if he doesn’t like the part where Adam and Eve get in trouble, and he said “no it makes me feel sad”.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

