11.12.10

Boys had a great day.  Lots of appointments, lots of waiting and still had a great day. 

Found this really cool home school related site recently and had to share:    http://freehomeschoolinglibrar.blogspot.com/.  “A source of free online vintage homeschool books and curricula.”  I have only started looking around it, but I am liking it.  Also, along the same vein — http://www.ignitethefire.com/oldfashioned.html.  “Ignite the FIRE is a ministry born out of my life. I am a homeschooling mother with 8 children and we have been homeschooling since 1992……This page will provide you with free links to antique readers and spellers, and other children’s books online.” (look at the firewood link).  Very soon look for an update of my “favorite Home Schooling website” page.  🙂

I used the new handwriting worksheet generator to make some sheets for Big Brother today – just his name.  I wanted to see them actually printed off, and that is the real reason I did them today and not next week.  Big Bother seemed really excited to see them, he pointed out the arrows that direct the lines even.  I did the biggest size possible and I think it is still going to be a struggle for him, but there is no rush and no pressure.  Handwriting is something he is asking for, he wants to write messages and send letters and make lists, so he is anxious to be able to write.

We are working more and more on fine motor control and endurance.  One skill / area we are struggling with is hand strength and the ability to manipulate items in his hands.  Think having a penny in your palm (flat in the middle) and rolling it up ti a pincher grip to put in a coin slot.  He can kinda do it, if he turns his hand and uses gravity too, but he can’t really do it well.  To help with that, at the suggestion of the school OT therapist I just ordered these flip crayons.   Yes, I realize the are made to go with handwriting without tears that I don’t like.  LOL But they are a tool, I am good with a variety of tools, just not over the top programs (and I still do not like the ball and stick font).  The goal is for him to switch colors, manipulating the crayon in one hand.  I have some other games for us too, keep watching. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

