A Seuss Unit ??

Or something that might, in the end, maybe resemble a unit?  Or it might totally not.  I have some ideas, but we’ll have to see how far the boys are willing to go with me.  Both boys are really in Dr Seuss right now.  Little is actually looking at the books alone and even, hold on, SITTING for part of a story.  Big Brother has been building creations out of the stories (mainly Butter Battle Book and Lorax) and acting them out.

I searched a bit; there is a ton of Seuss stuff on the web.  This site is good site.  The official Cat in The Hat site has a ton of good stuff, but is entirely too busy for the kid to look at.  It is too busy for me to look at.  It is a really fun place, though, and something for a variety of ages.  I also love the educators section, I foresee Seuss being part of our home school for a long time (and I am happy about that).  THIS  is actually a collection of other sites and links – for using Seuss in education / the classroom or units.  You should also look at THIS a site about him and Springfield MA and the memorial to him there.  Many events are held there, long to live closer. 

 

I created a list of all his books; I made it into a table by year of publication date.  Then I divided it by “stories” (To Think I saw it on Mulberry Street and the Thadwick the Big Hearted Moose) and Easy Readers (Fox in Socks, Please Remember the first of Octember).  Anyone that knows me knows I am a bit obsessed with “order” (reading all the books by an author in the order they were written is a biggie for me).  So I sorted the list by publication date so I / we can see the order Theodor wrote his books in. 

 

First I printed the list (list below) and then Big Brother and I sat down with all our books and checked off the ones we have.  The boys got a kick out of pulling all the books out at once and stacking them on the floor.  We have several collections (Your Favorite Seuss: A Baker’s Dozen by the One and Only Dr. Seuss, Six by Seuss: A Treasury of Dr. Seuss Classics, and A Hatful of Seuss: Five Favorite Dr. Seuss Stories); they are so great, they really make our collection.  All in all we own 27 of the 47 on the list.  We are only missing 12 of the “books” (not Easy Readers).  I think the list is now complete.  His Biography credits him with 47 books.  So my numbers match.  However I do not think the list I start with, that I pulled a list off of THIS SITE is complete, (My Many Colored Days is missing for example, but Theodor wrote it and did not illustrate it, maybe the reason?).  I want to include all books he wrote (both ones he wrote and illustrated himself and ones he just wrote – some he wrote and had others illustrate were originally published under Theodore LeSieg but seem to be being re-issued as Seuss (wacky Wednesday now has the Seuss name for example). I talked to the boys, especially Big Brother about how I thought it would be fun to read all his works in order and see if we can spot changes in Dr Seuss as the years go by.  He agreed, though I am not fully sure he understands, but he is generally always up for a book.

 

We read to think I Saw it on Mulberry Street and that night he was able to tell his Daddy the “new book we read today”.  I was struck by how much more Austere the illustrations were in that book compared to say The Lorax.  Not only were the colors much more muted and almost gray scale, but the white space filled most of the page and the illustrations were limited to the main object of the page’s text. 

 

I have added the books we are missing to our amazon.com wish list so that we can work on completing our collection.  We are going to keep reading, in order.  I plan to pull out “the next in order” each day, and then continue to read requests in addition to the “story of the day”.  I plan to go though the links above and look for any curriculum ideas I can find that are ”young” enough for the boys.  Finally I am going to print them some color sheets and especially looks for, or try to create, color sheets with letters on them for Big Brother to trace.  After that we’ll have to see how interested the boys are, and if they are following and “caring”.

title year Have?? Read??
You’re Only Old Once      
And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street 1937 YES yes
The Five Hundred Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins, 1938 YES  
King’s Stilts, 1939    
Horton Hatches the Egg 1940 YES yes
McElligot’s Pool, 1947 YES  
Thidwick, the Big-Hearted Moose, 1948 YES yes
Bartholomew and the Oobleck, 1949 YES  
If I Ran the Zoo 1950 YES  
Scrambled Eggs Super! 1953    
Horton Hears a Who 1954 YES yes
On Beyond Zebra 1955    
If I Ran the Circus 1956    
How the Grinch Stole Christmas 1957 YES yes
Yertle the Turtle & Other Stories 1958 YES  
Dr. Seuss Sleep Book, 1962 YES yes
I Can Lick Thirty Tigers Today & Other Stories 1969    
Sneetches And Other Stories 1969 YES  
I Can Draw It Myself: By Me, Myself with a Little Help from My Friend Dr. Seuss 1970    
The Lorax 1971 yes yes
Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are? 1973    
Great Day for Up! 1974    
Oh! The Thinks You Can Think 1975 yes yes
Hunches in Bunches 1982    
The Butter Battle Book, 1984 YES yes
The Seven Lady Godivas, 1987    
Oh, the Places You’ll Go 1990 YES  
I Had Trouble in Getting to Solla Sollew 1992    
Daisy-Head Mayzie 1995   yes
       
       
EASY READERS      
The Cat’s Quizzer      
The Cat in the Hat 1957 YES yes
The Cat in the Hat Comes Back 1958 YES yes
Green Eggs and Ham 1960 YES yes
One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish 1960 YES yes
Ten Apples Up On Top! 1961    
Hop on Pop 1963 YES  
The Cat in the Hat Beginner Book Dictionary 1964    
Fox in Socks 1965 YES yes
I Wish That I Had Duck Feet 1965    
Wacky Wednesday 1974 YES yes
Oh, the Thinks You Can Think! 1975 YES yes
Please Try to Remember the First of Octember 1977 YES yes
I Can Read With My Eyes Shut! 1978    
Oh, Say Can You Say? 1979    
I Am Not Going To Get Up Today 1987    
Dr. Seuss’s ABC 1996 YES yes
My Many Colored Days 1996 YES yes
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A Seuss Unit ??

  1. Crystal

    I like this table. 🙂 We love Dr. Seuss here!

Leave a Reply

