Setting yourself / myself apart

Part 1

2 Corinthians 6:14 Do not be yoked together with unbelievers. For what do righteousness and wickedness have in common? Or what fellowship can light have with darkness?

We are called again and again and again not to be of this world, to be set apart.  Not to live as the world lives.

And ….be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what [is] that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.  Romans 12:2

Do not conform to this place and time, do not fit in, set yourself apart for God living according to His design.

The challenge is to be separate from this world while being in it; the day to day practical challenges – clothing, vocabulary.  Holding yourself apart, but not making a show of it.  A thin line to walk; set apart, but without drawing undue attention in the effort not to fit in; where that line is, that is the daily question we all have to struggle with.  Reaching the world, ministering to the world and bringing in the harvest but not being incorporated into the world.

This is a topic that floats in my head often, I sit and nurse and my mind wanders to the bigger questions of a practical Christian life. We live in a rural location that requires a good amount of car time to go and do normal life stuff, and the boys are not much for conservation yet.  I think, some times I feel lost with my thoughts.

I do not have the answers, but I do have a lot of not-quite-random thoughts.  Solid thoughts and rabbit trails.  Glossier thoughts that are vague feelings and elude good text.  I am reading with thirst and pray about this.  I spent this summer making a conscious effort to dress more modestly and make the very difficult choice to give away or send to Goodwill many tops I genuinely like and think I look nice in because of the lack of sleeves or “better coverage”.

Books I have on my reading pile –

I also have a very long wish list on this topic.  This is not a new conviction or consideration to me, but an area of interest for a long time.  A quiet nagging, if you will.  Something that returns to me again and again.  But, alas something I have yet to find a good resolution to.  Books on my wish list

And before anyone asks, YES I’d actually love to read all on them, and yes I do read THAT much.

I have been prayfully considering head covering, and waiting on a clear lead from God, as well as a way to respect my husband’s thoughts on the matter at the same time.  Again the challenge to set apart: to be God’s person in my daily reality but with out drawing undue attention.  I am hoping to get Glories Seen & Unseen: A Study of the Head Covering also on paperbackswap or inter-library-loan.

Again I want to clearly state I am not really qualified for Biblical interpretations, I am not that educated or studied.  All I strive to do is share my personal thought on faith and offer out to the world at large thoughts for consideration.  I invite you along with me again as I ponder the Bible some more and how we can apply commandments directly to lives of sippy cups and picture books that we live moment to moment.

Luke 21:36  Watch ye therefore, and pray always, that ye may be accounted worthy to escape all these things that shall come to pass, and to stand before the Son of man

Many people like to quote the FIRST part of 1 Corinthians 6:12 where Paul tells us that: “All things are lawful unto me” but very few like to consider the completion of that verse “but all things are not expedient: all things are lawful for me, but I will not be brought under the power of any”.  Many people, Christian and other try to use this verse, or at least the first part, to justify or permit any worldly choice or behavior.  But in reality Paul is challenging us to make better personal choices.  He is saying it is lawful – that is the authority is not going to set the policy for you – but it is not beneficial; that is it is not a good choice.  But consider that – you and I are given the option to make any choice, we are challenged to make the good choice on our own, thus to own that choice, no “rules” to fall back on.  I used to stay with a teen while her mom was out of town, a great kid, trustworthy.  I told her, “use me as your excuse, peers will pressure you since your mom is out of town, I am you out” God’s word, via Paul does not give us a crutch like that.  We are required to make our good choices out of all the options presented.

How we present ourselves to the world is a reflection of our souls.  It shows our choices.  How we dress, how we act, how we speak is a visual report of our decisions.  It shows what we think it important.

More importantly you never get the chance to make a 2nd first impression.  You may actually be a great Christian Thinker, have a heart of gold and be a great person, but if it takes a stranger 2 years to get to know you then what purpose are your serving to God and the Kingdom?  Why make someone work to know you and to see God in you?

Like I said; I do not have the answers – merely a lot of thoughts and questions and vague ideas.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Setting yourself / myself apart

  1. Agreed; nice post. The head coverings, and change in style I’m not sure about either. I don’t want to come across as a ‘religious conservative’, an image in my mind that’s hard to describe but very real to me and in my environment. I already feel noticed by my actions; I’m not sure I want or need the added attention by my appearance. I have thought about it off and on during this last year; it seems to be rather popular among the online community. I would look forward to a mild change in style, as there are few things I enjoy wearing, but the finances are simply not there, even for thrifting.

    I like this a lot: “How we present ourselves to the world is a reflection of our souls. It shows our choices. How we dress, how we act, how we speak is a visual report of our decisions. It shows what we think it important.”

    • thanks. 🙂 I am not buying new for my new dressing — just weeding out the old and like wearing long tanks tucked in under shirts that might show tummy if i lift my arms and so on — working with what i have.

  2. I have Dressing with Dignity. PM me your addy and I’ll lend it to you. I too toyed with the idea of head covering years ago, for different reasons, but Kerm wasn’t much for it and I just let it drop. Covering at Mass, though, is something he had no problem with. I haven’t done it in a while, but I have my veils. Covering during private prayer time at home is another option, too. Frankly, you can do cute things with scarves and bandannas that don’t look like your typical “headcovering” but it still keeps you covered.

    C

    • DH feels that to cover in an area where no one covers is simply to draw more attention to me / us. the same as blue hair or _____ and thus is counterproductive. I respect that decision for our family, though something still nags at me. I am still seeking a way to remind myself to be set apart, …i had a pastor’s wife once say she was a much nicer driver drving the church van with a big sign on it — LOL — i seek something like that. Maybe I don’t make sense.

    • I love the idea of covering during private prayer time!

Leave a Reply

