Getting the Harvest In

Our Garden

The Daddy wanted a garden again this year, a bit bigger than last.  So a garden we have.  It is not large, but it still has not gone great.  The corn (sweet) never grew taller than Big Brother; this was our first year for corn.  I hard from others of struggles in the corn area, so maybe it wasn’t me.  I was looking forward to corn stalks to decorate with too.  The tomatoes have done great (they did well last year).  The peppers also (Big Brother’s hand in the pepper photo too) have done great too.  We have smaller cooking ones, black tomatoes, given to us by a friend.  I am freezing them for salsa.  We have the bigger ones that get sliced up for BLTs (a loved summer dinner here).

The pumpkins and watermelons have totally disappointed me.  They were the things I most wanted to have.  Our own pumpkins for decorating, I thought the boys would love that.

All three of my boys love watermelon too.

We have 2 small (baseball sized) watermelon.  In the photo that is Big Brother touching it, he is not five yet, remember.

I have little faith they are going to get any bigger.

No pumpkins, none.

I got ONE butternut squash, one.

However, we had a part of the garden grow like wildfire and that part was as planted by God, not us. The hand of God is so close if you open your eyes and look.  There are small reminders everywhere you look, if you look.  Such a cool little treat that He gave us.  We have a compost pile, and apparently I am not the best compost-er.  End of last year I tossed the old decorative gourds I had used for decoration all fall in the compost pile.

Well this spring we had a big plant grow right out of the compost pile.  This is really cool, in my opinion.

Every fall we have a party.  We try to do an indoor/outdoor thing with a bonfire, have a chili bar and invite family and friends.  We do a costume theme for the boys, since this is their Halloween and birthday party.  This party started in 2006 when Big Brother turned one.  In the past we’ve done it at the very end of Oct (Little Brother birthday is in late Oct and Big Brother’s is in mid-Nov.) especially since Halloween is a favorite event around here.  This year we are planning it for earlier in the month of October in hopes of a better chance at good weather.

We decorate for Halloween / fall for the event rather than a “children’s birthday theme”.

I am really excited that this year we can decorate for the event with all our own gourds.  Silly maybe, but it is something I can say I accomplished out of my garden.  I have a long way to go to be the “homemaker” of my dreams with my own bounty on the slf to feed my family though the long winter, but it is something.  I have so many friends canning and “putting up the harvest” I am excited to decorate with my own gourds; it is something.  Further each of them is a little gift from God, a tiny reminder of His unexpected, of His plan, not our’s.  Also He planted two plants; we got both yellow and orange gourds!!  I was stunned at how big the leaves on the vines got, and how long and thick the veins got.

Today the boys and I gathered in the harvest.  I left a few on the vein in hopes of them getting bigger, but most of them we picked them.  The boys started out with a nice hose war, uninterested in my efforts until I sent Big Brother for the wagon.  Then they both decided to help momma.  Little Brother DID get to pick a couple, but I never got a good picture.  You will notice the pictures Big Brother took of momma and Little Brother turned out nicely.

After they were all picked I had the boys scrub them up.  Little Brother by this point had stripped.  The boys got a nice 90+ minutes in the bright fall sunshine and fresh air; and we got the harvest in.

Our Garden

The Daddy wanted a garden again this year, a bit bigger than last.  So a garden we have.  It is not large, but it still has not gone great.  The corn (sweet) never grew taller than Big Brother; this was our first year for corn.  I was looking forward to corn stalks to decorate with too.  The tomatoes have done great (they did well last year) and the peppers also.  We have smaller cooking ones, black tomatoes, given to us by a friend.  The ones in this picture are green, but the get a reddish black when ripe.  I am freezing them for salsa.  We have the bigger ones that get sliced up for BLTs (a loved summer dinner here).

The pumpkins and watermelons have totally disappointed me.  They were the things I most wanted to have.  Our own pumpkins for decorating, I thought the boys would love that.  All three of my boys love watermelon too.  We have 2 small (baseball sized) watermelon.  In the photo that is Big Brother touching it, he is not five yet, remember.  I have little faith they are going to get any bigger.  No pumpkins, none.  I got ONE butternut squash, one.

However, we had a part of the garden grow like wildfire and that part was as planted by God, not us.  The hand of God is so close if you open your eyes and look.  Such a cool little treat that He gave us.  We have a compost pile, and apparently I am not the best compost-er.  End of last year I tossed the old decorative gourds I had used for decoration all fall in the compost pile.  Well this spring we had a big plant grow right out of the compost pile.  This is really cool, in my opinion.

Every fall we have a party.  We try to do an indoor/outdoor thing with a bonfire, have a chili bar and invite family and friends.  We do a costume theme for the boys, since this is their Halloween and birthday party.  This party started in 2006 when Big Brother turned one.  In the past we’ve done it at the very end of Oct (Little Brother birthday is in late Oct and Big Brother’s is in mid-Nov.) especially since Halloween is a favorite event around here.  This year we are planning it for earlier in the month of October in hopes of a better chance at good weather.  We decorate for Halloween / fall for the event rather than a “children’s birthday theme”.

I am really excited that this year we can decorate for the event with all our own gourds.  Silly maybe, but it is something I can say I accomplished out of my garden.  I have so many friends canning and “putting up the harvest” I am excited to decorate with my own gourds; it is something.  Further each of them is a little gift from God, a tiny reminder of His unexpected, of His plan, not our’s.  Also He planted two plants; we got both yellow and orange gourds!!  I was stunned at how big the leaves on the vines got, and how long and thick the veins got.

Today the boys and I gathered in the harvest.  I left a few on the vein in hopes of them getting bigger, but most of them we picked them.  The boys started out with a nice hose war, uninterested in my efforts until I sent Big Brother for the wagon.  Then they both decided to help momma.  Little Brother DID get to pick a couple, but I never got a good picture.  You will notice the pictures Big Brother took of momma and Little Brother turned out nicely.

After they were all picked I had the boys scrub them up.  Little Brother by this point had stripped.  The boys got a nice 90+ minutes in the bright fall sunshine and fresh air; and we got the harvest in.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Getting the Harvest In

  1. carolyn bledsoe

    Your garden did quite well, in my opinion. It’s not like you have nothing else to do but tend your seeds!! Love all the gourds that you got. But what I love is how you allow the boys to play and have fun and even strip if they feel like it! How freeing that must be for them. And the vine that grew out of the compost pile – Praise God!! Consider the birds of the field…..

    • thanks. Big Brother is no longer allowed to strip — but can go to his underwear. This is Little Brother last nude summer. They play in the water any time they can, it is fun, cheap and something they love, so i let them. I gave up a long time ago trying to get bathing suits on them each time. LOL. I have been blogging, reading, thinking a lot about “seeing God around you” and “seeking Him in your faily life” and I personally feel the veins out of compost, appearing this spring, may have been Him planting that very seed in me. Or so I’d like to think.

Leave a Reply

